Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Official Lions Reporter

By Sonja Greenfield // @Mom23RN


The votes are in.

The newest members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame are Randy Moss, Ray Lewis, Brian Urlacher, Brian Dawkins, Terrell Owens, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile and Bobby Beathard.

After 3 years of eligibility, Terrell Owens gets in.  One of the most talented wide receivers in the game.  In 16 years in the NFL, he had almost 16,000 receiving yards and 156 touchdowns.

But the TO that we all know and (most) love also had some antics as well.  From grabbing a fan’s popcorn, to dancing with cheerleaders, and the boldest, standing on the star in Dallas, he was probably one of the more flamboyant wide receivers as well.  Love him, or hate him, he was an excellent receiver, and now he’s got a gold jacket to show it.


The second wide receiver to get in was Randy Moss.  Wide receivers typically take awhile to get into the Hall.  Not Moss.  He was the first wide receiver to get into the Hall of Fame on the first ballot since Jerry Rice.

He was also a force to be reckoned with on the field.  He has the single-season record for receiving touchdowns, has the second most receiving touchdowns all time, had 156 touchdowns, and was a 4-time All-Pro.

Another first-ballot Hall of Famer is linebacker Ray Lewis.  He was probably the most controversial of the 2018 class.    However you feel about what happened off the field, on the field, Lewis’s work spoke for itself. The heartbeat of all those Baltimore Ravens teams, he was a 2 time Super Bowl Champion, a Super Bowl MVP, and 7-time All-Pro.  Can’t wait to watch him do his dance in Canton.



Bears former linebacker Brian Urlacher is also another first-ballot Hall of Famer.  He was a Defensive Rookie of The Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and 5-time All-Pro.  He also had 41 1/2 sacks, 22 INTs, and 1,358 tackles.   As a Lions fan who was happy to see him retire, I also was able to respect what he did for the Bears.  Though he was never able to bring back the defense that the Bears were known for, he was surely the heart and soul of that Bears team for a long time.


Former Philadelphia Eagles safety Brian Dawkins was another first ballot in this class.  He was another defensive beast.  A leader on this team, he was able to do everything except, unfortunately, help his team win a Super Bowl.  He did, however, have a hit that got them to the 2004 Super Bowl.

He had 895 tackles, 37 INTs, 26 sacks, and was a 4-time All-Pro.  He was a physically dominant player and embodies all toughness that the Philadelphia Eagles Fans have come to know and love.


The other three deserving players who made the Hall of Fame are Jerry Kramer who was an offensive lineman with the Green Bay Packers in the 50s-60s.  He will be the 25th Packer in the Hall.

Robert Brazile who was a linebacker with the Houston Oilers from 1975-1984. He went by the nickname of Dr. Doom.  I’d hate to have faced him.

Bobby Beathard will also be getting a gold jacket in August.  He lead the Washington Redskins to 2 Super Bowl titles and finally was with the San Diego Chargers.

Congratulations to the newest members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The August Enshrinement Ceremony will be great!!


Follow Sonja on Twitter @Mom23RN

#SmartWomen #SmartFootball



Leave a Reply