Ushering in the 2018 NFL Honors Award Winners

Official Chicago Bears Reporter

By Wanda Wiedman // @WandaW63

Musicians have the Grammys, Actors have the Emmys and Thespians have the Tonys. But for professional NFL athletes, their recognition comes through the NFL Honors Award.

Saturday night the celebration of a year of excellence in the NFL was ushered in with rookies and veterans alike.

Here is a list of the winners from the NFL Honors:

Pepsi Rookie of the Year and AP Offensive Rookie of the Year:

New Orleans Saints RB Alvin Kamara. Kamara had 120 touches for 728 rushing yards and eight rushing touchdowns, 826 receiving yards and five touchdowns. The Saints needed a return to the run game and they got it with Kamara.


FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year:

Philadelphia Eagles QB Carson Wentz and Los Angeles Rams RB Todd Gurley.


Castrol Edge Clutch Performer of the Year:

New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees.  Even though Brees did not have a 5000-yard season, he did manage to squeeze out 4,334 passing yards and 23 TDs.


AP Defensive Player of the Year:

Los Angeles Rams DT Aaron Donald. The early season holdout should cause the Rams to show Donald the money before training camp.


Salute to Service Award Presented by USAA:

Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Andre Roberts.


AP Offensive Player of the Year:

Los Angeles RB Todd Gurley. He was due a breakout season and under head Coach Sean McVay. It was a no-brainer.


Game Changer Award presented by Secret:

Sam Gordon.


AP Defensive Rookie of the Year:  

New Orleans Saints cornerback Marshon Lattimore.


AP Comeback Player of the Year:

Los Angeles Chargers WR Keenan Allen.


Offensive Line of the Year:

Philadelphia Eagles. Evident by the way they kept Wentz clean.


Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award:

Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly


AP Assistant Coach of the Year:

Minnesota Vikings offensive coordinator Pat Shurmur.


Bridgestone Elite Performance Play of the Year:

The Minnesota Miracle. Courtesy of WR Stefon Diggs.


Greatness on the Road Award:

Houston Texans Rookie QB Deshaun Watson.


AP Coach of the Year:

Los Angeles Rams Sean McVay. As if there was any doubt.


AP Most Valuable Player:

New England Patriots QB Tom Brady


Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide:

Houston Texans defensive end JJ Watt. The amount of money he raised for the Houston Hurricane Relief with a simple startup donation grew into a blockbuster fund.


To close out the list, it would only be fitting to add the list of the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class:


Congratulations to all the award winners both in Honors and the PFHOF!  


Follow Wanda on Twitter @WandaW63

#SmartWomen #SmartFootball

Leave a Reply